I blame my parents!

I had what can only be called an epiphany last night. Probably not quite as dramatic as Saul on the road to Damascus, but as equally enlightening.

I’ll set the scene.

The youngest lad, my little buddy, must be sensing the imminent arrival and has gone off the idea of being a big boy in his own room. Decided to sleep with us. A compromise was reached. Him, Mam and me would watch a DVD and then off to his bed.

Plan worked a treat, 20 minutes into Lazy Town he was fast asleep. 10 minutes later he was in his own bed.

I went downstairs and let the dog out, whilst standing at the back door watching her with a packet of digestives in hand. ( This is the only thing that will get her back inside, before she goes running through the swamp that is my backyard)

It suddenly hit me. I know some of the reason why I’m so scared of having a girl.

Growing up it was just my sister and I. We got on fine, but I can remember numerous times being told. “She’s only a girl!” “You’re the eldest and a boy don’t be doing that!” Maybe I don’t want to be saying that all the time to my boys. Its bad enough I find myself sounding like my mother. “I’ll give you a reason to cry” “Socks don’t belong on the floor”

We often got up to shenanigans together, but it was always my fault! I was the boy!

Maybe another thing could be because the boys are real boys. Rough and tumble, wrestling, jumping off the furniture, hurling and soccer. I wake up in sweats with visions of my little girl wearing a princess dress leaping off the couch doing an elbow slam into her brothers back.

I couldn’t do anything with my sister. Bike riding together was as tough as it got for us.

I don’t want to be seen favouring my daughter, I have a great relationship with my youngest lad. I don’t want that spoiled.

Another headache coming on. I wonder if I can get Panadol to sponsor this blog.

I need to lie down!

Leave a Reply

