Stereotypes. Am I falling into them already

I had planned to write today about the wonderful electronic gadgets available nowadays. I’ve noticed some great ones. Smart Phone Video and Sound Baby Monitors, Electronic bottle Warmers, there are a host of gadgets to make the modern mans job easier, well more fun at least, we do love our toys.

I then read a post on Inside Martyns Mind about stereotyping and boys/girls toys and it got me thinking. Am I already stereotyping my daughter?

Herself is already talking about ballet and Irish dancing classes. Now I’ve nothing against these. In fact I was quite in agreement. There are male dancers in both, I’m sure they get paid more, there being less of them. Yet not once has it been mentioned for the boys. Yet #BabyPink not a week old and already she is having after school activities planned.

Clothes. Not an issue you would normally associate with stereotyping, but I’ve been guilty of it. We were recently given a bag of baby girls clothes. Herself went through it to see what would fit her. Now these clothes came from her sister, so its not cleanliness that is the issue. The boys wore hand me downs from relations. So I’ve no issue with that. My sole reason, they were a bit faded. The socks were rough. In reality it was just that they weren’t good enough for #BabyPink.
After all this girl will be an internet sensation (lol).
If I had the money she’d be head to toe in Gucci, Armani etc.

The day she came home I cleaned out the car. Top to bottom. Hoovered and all. It’s not like she’d notice, she would be safely in her rear facing car seat. Again a dirty car wasn’t good enough for #BabyPink. I mean she already has her own hash tag.

Even with schooling, a single sex school has been mentioned. It was dismissed out of hand for the boys!

I want her to be happy and well adjusted. Enjoying life. Does that mean I go along with stereotypes so that she fits in. Or do I encourage her to blaze her own path. If she wants to be a batman suit wearing, truck driving hell raiser do I say “Good for you”

I know one thing we will be doing our best to ensure she has positive role models and self esteem. Other than that we’ll take it one day at a time. One dance class at a time.

The Dad Network

4 thoughts on “Stereotypes. Am I falling into them already

  1. Great post. Am glad that I inspired you! You can never tell really what they want or which direction they go. I found very earlier on that my youngest went against his stereotype when he was a baby it was deemed ok and then when he was older I didn’t care and was just glad he was happy. Would I be more comfortable if he did? Or course yes but that wouldn’t make him happy. I don’t know if he will grow out of it and change his tastes or stick with what he likes. But like you I will take it one day at a time and go along with what makes him happy. Thanks for linking up with us on the #bigfatlinky

    Like

  2. Such a good thought! I think we condition our children from the word go. Ted’s nursery is filled with aeroplanes & cars! (Toys obviously…) And if you look on the WHSmiths magazine shelf, there aren’t any magazines aimed at boys & girls. Craft mags are pink, football mags are black & blue! Toys alone are a huge factor in stereotyping our kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

