What Might Have Been !!

Lab

It’s amazing what science can do these days! I saw a movie on True Movies the other day, about a couple who lost their daughter to a genetic disorder, and had a clone made.

It got me thinking. What would have happened if I had been given the choice to pre select the gender of the child. As you can tell from the blog title,I was terrified at the prospect of having a daughter. I would probably  have chosen to have a boy.

Now that #BabyPink is here I wouldn’t change her for the world though. Already she has her own little personality. A little cute smile, when she is asleep (I’d love to know what she is dreaming about!) She wraps her little arm around me when I have her on my shoulders. That little glint in her eyes, which I know is going to be the cause of more disagreements between herself and me.

That is nothing though to the other changes. When I was a small boy I remember wanting to change the world. To be a hero. I even said it one day to the girlfriend at the time. I was about 26. “If I died tomorrow, what would I be remembered for? I’ve accomplished nothing.” She told me I was mad. Still to this day though I have a feeling I’ve wasted my potential.

In the short space that #BabyPink has been here, things have started to change. I’ve realized, you don’t have to find a cure for a disease, rescue people from a burning building, pull someone from a car wreck to be a hero. When you have children, if you do your job right, you are a hero to them.

#BabyPink has changed that view slightly. I still want to be a hero. Just not the pulling people from burning buildings type. Just being her hero is enough. I’m looking forward to the father’s day she hands me a present of a t-shirt or mug, with “My Hero” or the Superman logo on it. Bought from her own money. Then I will know, my live has meaning.

Not that I don’t want to be a hero to the boys. Just boys like their action hero’s. It’s not enough to be the first one in the queue to collect them from school, to scour the net for hours to find those hard to get soccer boots for their birthday. Standing on the sidelines, no matter the weather, watching them play a friendly match. A little girl will think you are her hero by carrying her across a puddle in the rain, eating her carrots when mum isn’t looking,

As I sit here now typing this post. Her gentle breathing, like a cute, pink metronome in her cot, I thank the Lord that I wasn’t given that choice. If I had my world would be a lot less pink, but I know it wouldn’t be as good.There are going to be OMG moments, that there wouldn’t be if she’d been a boy, but I’m a lot more optimistic now.

The Dad Network

8 thoughts on “What Might Have Been !!

  1. Interesting this. I wrote a blog post a while ago about my apprehensions (not fear as such) that our second child might be a boy. Our first child was a girl and Ithis was the only experience I had; raising a girl. I would have felt blessed whatever we had, but the possibility of having a boy and learning a whole new set of rules did make me anxious. Anyway, I don’t agree with gender selection. As you’ve discovered, you need to do your best to be a hero, not matter what the gender of your offspring #BigFatLinky.

    Like

    1. I’ll have to search through your blog and read that post. Same as you the fact we had #BabyPink I feel blessed. Just the fear of the unknown. Maybe if we hadn’t found out I wouldn’t have been so aprehensive.

      Like

  2. If I had the choice A girl. Always wanted a girl. And was worried about having a boy. Could I be a man and a rile model for them etc. Since having the boys I can’t imagine Having a girl now. It’s interesting how your individual apprehensions can make your original choice different compared to your current situation. I against gender selection though. Being who you are in the situation as you discussed is what matters.
    Thank you for linking up with us on the #bigfatlinky such a thought provoking post!

    Like

  3. Yes I agree – I think it’s a combo of the unknown and which gender you feel you relate to better generally. In our house I tend to forget who’s what gender. They all have big personalities (one girl, two boys) and they are just ‘them’ now. #bigfatlinky

    Like

Leave a Reply

