Gambling Addiction

image

I didn’t realise till this morning, but next week is the Cheltenham Festival. I used to love this week of the year.

The nights start to get noticeably longer. It’s light in the mornings when I wake, and the cream of the National Hunt horses head to Cheltenham for five days of the best racing.

That has changed now. I nearly lost my family over it. Not the horses so much. I’d bet on anything!

At my worst I’d be up at 3 or 4 o’clock in the morning betting on American College Basketball, Australian Soccer even table tennis.

My betting started as a bit of fun on a Saturday in the pub. A Ā£1 accumulator on the soccer or a place pot.

I had a phase of pouring money into fruit machines, but since moving to Ireland they are not as prevalent in the pubs.

Suffering from depression and other issues related to my abandonment and adoption as a child. I’m guessing I used this as my coping mechanism.

It went way out of hand. Bills didn’t get paid, the rent was let go. Until herself found out.

Thankfully she gave me a second, a third and finally last chance.

Its been nearly a year now since I had a bet, there are times I see match results or racing results and think “If I’d a tenner on that!”

This week will be tough, but instead of watching the horses I’ll play with my boys and hold #BabyPink.

We may not have much, but I’ve everything I need.

The Dad Network

6 thoughts on “Gambling Addiction

    1. Thanks Al. Was your post on setting blogging goals that made me realise there was so much more to blog about than just #BabyPink. Couldn’t find it to add link in post.

      Like

  1. Good job buddy. Just your brief description of things makes me think you and I should talk more. By the looks like we have a fair bit in common. Always drop me a message. šŸ™‚ great post. Well done for getting this far and thanks for linking up with us on the #bigfatlinky

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

