Word of the Week 2

Last week’s word of the week was all about Little Miss OMG and her current favourite word. You can find out what it was here.

This week’s word is a little bit different!

Genetics

One of the things an adopted person (like myself) misses out on is family medical history. 

I’ve lost count of the times I’ve had to answer “I’ve no idea” when asked about family medical history.

So far this hasn’t caused any issues. It probably never will, but it would be nice to know if there is a history of heart disease, Alzheimer’s, Diabetes etc. 

Why am I wondering about Genetics then? I hear you ask? 

I received this message from my sister during the week.

Short and sweet, as ever!

A bit of research. (Dr Google) and ten minutes later I had an idea of what it is.

You can either click here. Or read on and I’ll give you the basic outline.

In a nutshell MBL deficiency is a lack of a protein that helps fight infection. So people with the condition are unable to fight infections.

It’s not all doom and gloom though. Having the mutation only leads to an increased chance of developing MBL.

I’ve an appointment with GP Friday so I’ll know a bit more then. From what I’ve read it’s a simple blood test. 

If I’ve inherited the mutation (Can I call myself an X-Man?) Then Buddy and Little Miss OMG will have to have the same test.

One thought on “Word of the Week 2

Leave a Reply

