When you’re Toddler is active.

Anyone who follows my Instagram gallery will know that Little Miss OMG does four things. Eat, sleep, bath and playing outdoors.

She has no interest in TV and doesn’t sit still long enough to play with the array of toys she has acquired in the 17 months since she was born.
Ordinarily this wouldn’t be an issue. She would be put down as an active child and norhing else would be thought of it. The difference here is that her brother has a diagnosis of ADHD. 

Maybe her mother is overly concerned, because of this. If he didn’t have the diagnosis would she be concerned? I don’t know.

Am I burying my head in the sand and not admitting she is too active because she is my daughter ? 

You see there is active and then there is ACTIVE! She climbs the furniture. Onto the toilet, then the cistern and then the window sill! Outside she will climb the fence, try to get her little leg over to get out of the garden. She knows no fear and does not give up.

Look at the expression on her face in the photo here.

Today, and this is what has me thinking Mrs OMG might be right, and it would be sensible to get her referred into someone. She climbed the first rung of the fence. Lay on the top one, balancing her body and lifted her feet so she lay Superman style across the top. She then tipped too far. Thankfully we were right beside her and Mrs OMG was holding her hand. By luck more than judgement she landed on her feet. A shocked expression on her face.

What did she do next? Went straight back around to climb the fence and do it again!

This is only one of a number of similar incidents. She cannot be left alone anywhere for even a minute. 

Is this normal toddler behaviour? Her brothers, except Number 2 stepson, who has ADHD didn’t do this! Is she just copying the boys?

I really don’t know. I do know that if a friend asked me for advice. I would suggest maybe a referral is better. If there’s nothing there you’ve lost nothing but a bit of time. If there is, it’s better to find out earlier, isn’t it?

So I think it’s time to bite the bullet and fill in the forms we’ve had for a month now and see what happens.

Do you think I’m over reacting and Little Miss OMG is just a boisterous 17 month old? 

15 thoughts on “When you’re Toddler is active.

  1. It’s a really difficult one isn’t it! Like you say, having one diagnosis already probably makes you jump to the same conclusion. Being a teacher (albeit in a high school) I see lots of ADHD, just rest assured you’re certainly not alone and sometimes it makes for the most engaging kids.
    Potty Adventures
    #binkylinky

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words. At the end of the day it really makes no difference to us. At least if she is in the system earlier rather than later it’ll be better for her in the long run, if she does have additional needs.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm it’s hard as my daughter is a lazy bag and doesn’t climb and do lots of crazy stuff. However little miss has brothers and copies and wants to probably be a boy!! I’d watch her a bit more and see. It may just be her nature xx #binkylinky

    Like

  3. Being a parent can drive you crazy if you let it. It seems there is always something that we are worried about. I’m no expert by any means, but my was a complete nutcase at that age also, and seems to have settled down some. To me, it seems too early to worry, and I wonder both how someone would be capable of making that diagnosis, and also, what would you do about it? I’d be very uncomfortable medicating a 17 month old because she was too active. Just my 2 cents, for what it’s worth. #binklylinky

    Like

    1. Oh they won’t medicate for ADHD until they are 6. I’m not exactly sure what age they can diagnose it.
      Probably being overly cautious, but we had terrible trouble getting health staff to refer her brother and he missed out on a number of years therapies and help he could have gotten.

      Like

  4. Oh it’s so hard isn’t it. Our twins are so very different. One loves to just sit and watch TV, the other loves playing football and climbing. Thanks for linking up to the #BinkyLinky

    Like

  5. It’s a very difficult one but as you said it doesn’t really matter it wouldn’t to me either just the way it is fab post with super photos Thanks for linking to the #binkylinky please come back next week

    Like

  6. My 2 sons were really chilled out,then my daughter came along and shocked me totally.Into absolutely everything,using plug sockets to climb up onto the furniture and anything else she could think of.Given the history I would be inclined to get it checked out but hopefully she’s just one of life’s boisterous,curious kids šŸ˜Š

    Like

    1. Yes I think she is just a giddy, active, messer.
      I think Mrs OMG is just overly concerned given the history and the fact DRs kept telling her he was fine, it was just the marriage break up.

      I’m sure Little Miss OMG and your little one would get on great together.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A difficult call one on which you cannot win either way really. We have twins, one boy and one girl and the difference in them is unreal. He is wild and into everything, has climbed on top of the freezer or the couch onto the windowsill, loved to climb on the chairs and stand on top of the dining table – all before his twin could even walk. He was and is a holy terror.
    Again I feel with having older siblings to copy and behaviour seems normal to her, even the autistic behaviour, again the boy twin has no volume control and yells and shouts cos his older autistic brother does. #BinkyLinky

    Like

Leave a Reply

