The Daddy Tag

​The lovely Frenchie Mummy came up with the idea for The Daddy Tag and the fantastic (dont tell him I said that) Martyn tagged me.

So here goes.. 

Are you a Stay at Home Daddy or working Daddy? 
Technically I’m a SAHD. Although in my little head I’m a bit like a resting actor! I gave up work after Buddy was born as Mrs OMG started taking seizures again, also at the same time my step son was diagnosed with Autism so I became his full time carer. It is more by necessity than choice though and given the opportunity I’d be a working Dad, unless finances permitted me to stay at home with the nippers.

Would you have it any other way?

I miss work! I miss the money! I miss the banter! I’m so glad I’ve had the chance to spend practically all day every day with the kids though. I’ve been lucky enough to see all the firsts which I wouldn’t have had I still been working.

Do you co-change dirty nappies? Even the very smelly ones?

The poonami’s, the surprise pooey ones, the real stinky ones (and for a little baby Buddy’s nappies stank like an old lad’s farts after a night on the Guinness) My stepson has problems with toileting so I get his cleanups some days too. 
Obviously there are times I get the whiff and suddenly remember a letter that has to be posted or need to leave early for the school run. Shush Mrs OMG doesn’t need to know.

A little fairy gives you the possibility of breastfeeding? Are you going for it or do you run away?

I’d have an old bash, why not. Although I did always say if I had boobs I’d sit at home playing with them all day so baby might not get a look in. :mrgreen:

What is the one must-have item for a daddy?

Is this a trick question? Surely its a cute kid! The looks I get from women who wouldn’t look twice at me otherwise when I’ve Little Miss OMG in tow. 
Only messing! Depends which child I have in tow but as a rule a cd for the car. I no longer have any say over what is played unless Little Miss OMG is the sole passenger. She’s not too keen on News talk though, so lately it’s been Now 92 non stop!!

How many kids do you plan on having?

Do you not think 2 of my own and two ready made ones is not enough for anyone’s sanity. Although Little Miss OMG is no longer a cute fuzzy baby and all those tiny little new Borns on my IG feed are making me broody! 

Lads’ nights? How often do you have them?



Never. I’ve not been to so many that I no longer get asked. Id rather be at home with the kids, than wasting money getting drunk and listening to drunken men. (Drunk men are knobs, but you don’t need me to tell you that! There’s also the small matter I don’t like saying no so I’d end up drinking more than I’d want and being a drunken knob!) Much prefer being behind the bar, if I’m in a bar at all.
Your children’s favourite achievement?

The bigger two are probably most proud of making it to the county final two years in a row with their hurling team. 

Buddy is like me and never gets too excited about anything he does. Although he does seem a bit too pleased that he has to constantly show me what to do on Minecraft.
What is your best memory with your kid(s)?

With the boys it’s probably when we went to The Aviva to watch Ireland play a friendly before the Euros. No Mammy or Little Miss OMG. We cheered on the Boys in Green together, hurled abuse at the referee and generally had a ball.

With Little Miss OMG it’s watching her do something I’ve shown her. It’s great seeing that little grin on her face when she’s all pleased with herself for learning something new.

Name one thing you miss since being a daddy?



Not a single thing! 

Weight gain, before pregnancy, during, after and now? And we mean YOU DADDY, not the mummy!

When Mrs OMG was preggers with Buddy my metabolism was great and I couldn’t gain weight for love nor money. 

Somewhere between Buddy and Little Miss OMG something changed. Whatever it was, the Papa John’s pizza craving assisted in a few love handles and a pair of Moobs! Both of which seem to be here to stay!

Dream holiday with your kids?



I’d love to go cruising around the Med on a luxury liner. A floating resort docking at different exotic ports. 
Dream holiday without your kids or even without the other half? (You’re allowed to dream)

I couldn’t do it. I’d miss the little feckers too much. I’ve always wanted to go to Egypt so guess we’d all have to go.

How has your life changed since having kids?

Instead of either working every hour I could or going to the pub so I wasn’t sat at home alone. Im now quite happy at home with the kids. Well except when they are being little shits! Then I hide in the toilet. 

Finish the sentence “It makes my heart melt when…” 


I go to collect them from somewhere and their faces light up when they see me. 

Favourite beers brands and football team?

I’d drink knatts piss! I’m a tech lover at heart, just no money for it, so probably Sony or Samsung. I’m currently lusting over the Huawei P9. 

Before kids my first love was Tottenham Hotspur, they made me cry, laugh brought me joy and gave me some great memories. I’ve two out of four so far following them. Won’t be long till Little Miss OMG has her first Spurs kit!

Huggies or Pampers?

She’s Patriotic if nothing else and the only nappies that didn’t give her delicate little bum a rash were Dunne’s own brand. Helping support the Irish economy one poop at a time! 

Have you always wanted kids?

Yes, being adopted I think I always wanted kids so that I’d have blood connection to someone. It’s also the perfect excuse to do kiddy things. Let’s face it I’d get strange looks going to watch Zootopia on my own wouldn’t I?

Best part of being a dad?

Everything. 

My turn to tag……

I will tag DadyouGeek a fab blogger and a great guy I’d love to read his answers. 

the Frenchie Mummy Blog

21 thoughts on “The Daddy Tag

  1. Thanks for doing it! Great answer but some of some are quite naughty! LOL You would play with your boobs?!Weird idea only men can have…So cute of you to say that you wouldn’t go on holiday with the little tribe. I would! I would probably be sad as soon as we leave, but a part of me would be like #hurrah!!!!’
    You look like you really care about your children. Congrats on passing the challenge with success. I really enjoyed reading your answers #thedaddytag

    Like

  2. haha, loved reading this. You sound like a super dad and very lucky children. I am autistic so I know what a pain in the arse I can be for my hubby! It is funny once you become a parent you seem to know hell of a lot about pop. My son ate a lot of black pudding the other day and oh my word it was BLACK like tar, vile. Also a fan of the toilet haven, my hubby takes the piss saying he will fence of the signal for the bathroom and I might come out ;). Thanks for sharing, great to get to get to know you a bit better X

    Like

    1. I’ve lost my toilet haven since Little Miss OMG started walking. Now I have an audience when in there!

      Oh yes, poop we had the same with Buddy would only drink Ribena for a while and too much iron turned it to tar.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This was such a fun post to read! The honesty of it is just awesome! Love the fact that your girl is patriotic even when it comes to poop! 😄 and what is it with men and boobs eh? That’s the answer my hubby would have given for sure! #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. Great answers and they either made me laugh or go aahhh, so a really good read!:) Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.
    Mainy – myrealfairy

    Like

  5. Great post and what an amazing dad you are! I love the Papa John craving, we don’t have any up here but whenever we go down south my husband goes nuts for it! Really lovely to read about you, thanks for sharing with #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. I love all the answers. So honest! My husband does not get a lads’ night out either. Partly because we moved across the country and partly because he’d rather just be home with his family. Great post #thedaddytag

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

