Photo License: (license)
Before I begin can I say I’m not trying to convert any wrestling fans here, there are many out there and if you enjoy it then that’s fine. It’s just not for me.
Now that we have that out of the way onto the post!

I’ve a number of reasons for disliking WWE so much that I say I HATE it.

First

It’s made out to be a sport! It is not a sport. It’s entertainment. A show! It’s not the best wrestler who wins, or the most skilful and better prepared. 

Second

The over the top posturing, name calling, shouting! I understand this is all part of the show and what makes it so appealing, especially to young boys. It is bad enough that sportsmanship is disappearing from proper sports, football, rugby even cricket. Yet these wrestlers go above and beyond and this is no example to set impressionable young boys. There are no handshakes, no gracious winners or losers.

Finally

The use of weapons and disregard for the rules. I’m not niave enough to believe this is not all part of the show. After all if it was just for men in skimpy clothes grappling on the floor that people watched WWE then Greco-Roman Wrestling would be on prime time tv.

Thanks to the modern marketing consumerist world we live in you can buy anything from WWE pencils to computer games and clothing. Which means kids are seeing this everywhere! 

Even though there are warnings advising not to try this at home. Invariably boys will, and where older brothers go younger sisters follow! Amusing as it is to watch Little Miss OMG chase her brothers round the trampoline and try to pin them into submission accidents are far too easy to happen! There’s also the fact that it goes from play to real very, very quickly.

I’ve lost track of the number of times the boys have been banned from the trampoline for wrestling.

What do you think? Am I being harsh? Is it just entertainment and harmless enough?

10 thoughts on “I Hate WWE 

  1. I don’t watch wrestling. WWE is just ridiculous. Definitely all for show & no actual sportsmanship going on there. Although I do give them credit for the choreographed moves they perform, it must take some practice to do that! #effitfriday

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My flatemates used to watch this obsessively. It was like a big violent soap opera complete with speculation about story lines, rivalry and betrayal.

    It’s sold as sports entertainment rather than sport but it is real. The fights are scripted but they still hurt. As a non-believer I read Mick “Mankind” Foley’s autobiography and found it fascinating. Worth a read even if you do hate WE

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Have-Nice-Day-Blood-Sweatsocks/dp/0061031011

    #effitfriday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

