The Times They are a Changing!

As the great Bob Dylan sang so many years ago. The times are most definitely a changing.

Dave at DadvWorld wrote a great piece about kids and tech, read it here. The fab blogger that is Nigel Higgins also wrote one about his 4 year old twins and mobile phones. Read it here.

It got me thinking. My generation was one of, if not the last to grow up without the internet and mobile phones.

All of my children know their way round a smart phone. They can download games from the play store. Using multiple devices doesn’t throw them at all. Buddy can use my Huawei smart phone and then pick up his Galaxy Tablet and has no problems with slight nuances in the functions.

Even Little Miss OMG will see a phone and say “Baby, Baby” until you cave and hand her the phone with the gallery open. She then has her one finger swipe through the gallery. Till she gets bored, or presses the wrong thing.

Little Miss OMG on the laptop.

Xbox, PS4 and laptops are no trouble. They all understand about hotspots and wifi. 

Nowadays you can boil a kettle and control your heating from your smartphone. You can even watch your CCTV cameras. In my day you had to walk across the room to change the bloody tv channel.

License: (license)

The doomsayers amongst us say that Skynet is coming!

I think it’s a good thing. Technology has opened so many doors and given opportunities to many that would never have had them.

My boys dream of being YouTubers. Like DanTDM and Stampey. Until I started blogging I just thought they were people who recorded themselves playing computer games or acting the idiot. Now that I’ve seen how much they can earn, if they can do it, then why not. It’s no different than being a TV star really, and is it any different to my dreams of playing at Wembley in the FA Cup final for Spurs?

To be honest I’d rather they did that than go on reality tv and become famous for doing nothing really.

So as Bob said “The times they are a changing” and from my wifi addicted corner of Ireland I don’t think it’s a bad thing.

Now if they could invent a machine to butter my toast I’d be away with it.

What do you think? Is the technological age we live in a bad thing. Were we better off without mobile phones and the interweb?

17 thoughts on “The Times They are a Changing!

  1. There are good things but many bad things too – we are evolving (phyiscally – our brain wiring is also changing at a speed never before). I have noticed a lot of changes in my attention span so I’ve started making sure I have hours off it. #KCACOLS

    Like

  2. I have a love hate relationship with technology. I love using it but hate that I literally have no idea how to use it most of the time. I think I was in the same generation as you. I was 17 when I had my first mobile phone and my 10 year old has one now. She also loves You Tube and wants to be a You Tube star but is also really interested in the behind the scenes bit too #kcacols

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Technology and the internet have so many benefits, and I think they can be great tools for children if used correctly, but I think imagination and creativity are really important too, and I worry that overuse might hinder both of these. I suppose it’s a case of using it in moderation. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree with you about creativity actually (now I’ve thought properly about it!). I think when I start thinking about technology and children I focus on how I use it with my own little girl and that’s mostly watching videos on my phone or tablet. I sometimes worry that I let her do it too much, because I also think it’s really important for her to learn how to play imaginitively. But you’re right, I’m sure in other ways technology can be really good for creativity. Thanks for helping me see things outside my little bubble! ☺

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love technology and gadgets and if I had the money then I would have a lot more. We have to move on with the times and that means teaching our children how to use technology too. Nowadays if you don’t know how to use a computer and connect to wifi or draft up a powerpoint then you are definitely not getting the job. You have to have this knowledge now, my 2 year old already knows how to work his tablet I this is something we will continue to work on and move onto different gadgets too πŸ™‚ #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Definitely not a bad thing. My boy has autism and technology giveshim so much joy and calms him because it is predictable. His quality of life would be worse without it. Thanks so much for linking with #KCACOLS. We hope you come back next week.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is definitely a show of progression through the modern world. I was among the first of my friends to have the Nokia 3330 and have always used computers and had access to ‘modern’ technology. I think it is a remarkable thing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

