I was sitting here watching Little Miss OMG sleep and writing a post about Education. (I know a rather meaty topic for me!) When a Twitter notification popped up and I clicked it. After the RT was done I was automatically taken to my Timeline where I saw a Tweet taking me to this link by Daily Edge

I normally stay away from response posts and jumping on popular bandwagons preferring to do my own thing.  BUT in this instance I feel suitably qualified. Since Little Miss OMG arrived with her pink clothes, Frozen pj’s and hair clips I’ve taken an obsessive interest in gender stereotyping, I even wrote a post.

The media, which lets face it, in this day and age is constant. TV, radio, music and Magazines not forgetting the interweb is in our faces 24 hours a day. 

At least the message they give is consistent if nothing else! Girls should wear make up be into fashion and worry about what boys think about them! Yet boys can think about their future, Astronaut, Artist, Firefighter or Chef.

Image Olivia Ratliff twitter.

Nonsense this is the 21st centuary.As well as the in your face marketing, the constant make up and weight loss adverts there is the subliminal message. When talking about female achievements it is always prefaced with gender. She is one of the greatest female tennis players ever. Do we say Pete Sampras was one of the greatest male tennis players ever? Of course not! By adding the word female we are saying she is only the greatest in that category. There are many female sports stars who are just as good if not better than some of their male counterparts.
The messages are so strong and constant that even with a strong female role model in the house or family that by the time they finish primary school most girls have, in the main, been brainwashed into this mindset. If they haven’t then secondary school will do it or they will be classed as nerdy or uncool.

I want Little Miss OMG to grow up to be what she wants, be it a computer programmer, hairdresser, sports star, actress, scientist or anything else she wants.

Short of forming my own cult and shutting off all access to the outside world I’m at a loss as to how this can be done!

5 thoughts on “A Girls Life Magazine

  1. This is so interesting – I wrote a post a while ago after a parent teacher meeting when the teacher said innocently that she had given my daughter the nickname “Little Miss Bossyboots”. I asked her what she called boys who were bossy and why they were dissuading girls from having leadership skills. Yes, the media and society in general definitely gender stereotype to a depressing level. But how we as parents discuss gender at home really hits home deeply I’ve noticed (so far! She’s only 7!!). Despite working in fashion for years, I now rarely bring fashion mags home, and if we do see an image I’ll point out what’s been airbrushed, and not give it too much importance. We also have a catchphrase at home – boys and girls can do everything the other can, except boys can’t have babies and girls can’t pee standing up! The other day my daughter asked me why it’s “MAN-kind”, and why MAN is prefixed of suffixed to so many words. It’s good she is aware and asks these questions. Oh dear, I could really go on and on about this!! Great post xx

    Like

    1. Yes you are right. I’ve had to stop myself saying “Because Little Miss OMG is a girl” When the boys ask why they can’t play rough on the trampoline. Instead I say “Becauae she is only a toddler”
      It used to get on my nerves as a child when I was blamed for all the naughty things my sister and I did because I was the oldest and she was a girl!
      Ha ha I love the catchphrase.
      Thanks for reading and commenting. :mrgreen:

      Like

Leave a Reply

