Is our Education System past its sell by date?

With the excitement, relief, joy and all the other emotions that go with Back to School still fresh in our minds I thought I’d take a look at education.

License: (license)

Not in a humourous way like I did in my School Run post, but in a serious way.

I left school in 1992, and full time education in 1994. Makes me feel old looking at it in writing!!

I took GCSEs and then went to Oxford College Of Further Education and took a BTEC ND in Business and Finance, as I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do.

In the time since I left school the methods of teaching don’t seem to have changed at all. It’s still teachers going through a text book and the children answering questions, doing written homework and exams. There is a portion of coursework in some subjects.

There have been many advances in understanding how people learn and take in information. Some people are visual, some auditory and others sensory learners. Yet none of this has translated to the school system!

Is this why there is an increase in Home Educating?

The jobs market and landscape has  changed immeasurably in that time. Gone are the days of starting at the bottom and working your way up. The digital age has added new jobs and opportunities. Many people are now freelancers and so many more are self employed or small business owners.

These jobs require a different set of skills than simply being able to learn a task and perform it.

Are we therefore sending our young adults out into the world unprepared for the job market they face?

Most children own smartphones, tablets and laptops. YouTuber is a viable career option, social media is used the world over for networking, sales, marketing and so much more.

Do we need to ditch the books and classrooms and teach in a new way?

Don’t get me wrong, we still need to teach the three R’s Reading, wRiting and aRithmetic. There is also the need for history, science, geography and the Arts and Languages. We just need to look at a different way of teaching and assessing a child/young adults level of achievement.

In no workplace have I ever had to sit an exam in the performance of my job.

I have a funny feeling that when Little Miss OMG has reached 17/18 years old she will still be cramming for her Leaving Cert exams.

What do you think? Is our education system no longer fit for purpose? Do you Home Educate because the school system is outdated?

12 thoughts on “Is our Education System past its sell by date?

  1. It definitely needs updating! I personally think classes should be divided by their learning so every child is able to learn in a way that suits them. I’m pretty sure it would stop children getting bored and being disruptive in class too making it easier all round for everyone. So many children are seen as ‘underachievers’ simply because they are not being taught in a way that works for them. Each year group has at least 3/4 classes so it’s easily done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that’s a great idea. My eldest hated school from day one and none of the teachers did anything to try and encourage him. Its a real struggle to get him to open a schoolbook and he has Junior cert next year. (GCSE equivalent) He has brains just doesn’t like classroom environment.
      It doesn’t look like anything will change anytime soon though.
      Thanks for reading and commenting 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You know my thoughts my friend and home Educating my boy makes them clear. The current education system is obsolete, as you refer to, times have changed and changed incredibly, yet education remains the same. The education system is supposed to be something that teaches and prepares young people for the world, can anyone honestly tell me it’s doing that effectively right now? I believe once you have the basics, reading, writing and basic maths, you can then teach yourself anything, therefore should we not concentrate more on building/raising self motivated confident people. At the moment via exams, the system is just developing scared and pressured young people worried about meeting standards made up by…. well who knows?!

    Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah looking back if I’d known I was going to have to give up work to become full time carer for my Autistic stepson I would have gone the Home Ed route.
      Now it’s just trying to make the best of a bad system!
      Even back when I was a kid we learnt more on one field trip than a week in the classroom. I still remember about different soils and crop rotation from a geography field project that involved going around to farms and surveying farmers and taking soil samples.
      Thanks for reading and commenting. I’ll keep an eye out for your Home Ed posts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Some people take information in like a sponge, other need to see to learn. The system only accommodates one type of learner and in 2016 that’s just not good enough. You’re smashing it !!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, it is! We’re lucky that the primary school our girls go to is really forward thinking, but I think the majority schools need updating. We need a school for real life. Learning about mortgages, paying bills, getting a job, proper cooking lessons etc! Thanks for linking up to #ThatFridayLinky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The ones here in Ireland are shocking. I think in my eldests secondary school they only use computers and technology in Design!
      They need to learn about banking, interest rates, credit etc as well as teamwork, time management etc.
      Thanks for hosting šŸ˜€

      Like

  4. I’m actually fairly impressed at how my elementary and middle schools are handling education these days. My youngest is in third grade and he is learning computer coding. I don’t care for all of the homework and I have noticed some of the teachers agree and have been sending less but my eight year old has become a whiz at graphic design and both kids have YouTube channels!

    Like

    1. WOW that’s fantastic. My eldest is in high school and does nothing like that!
      It just seems to me the world is changing so fast and our education system here in Ireland at least isn’t changing with it.
      Thanks for reading and commenting :mrgreen:

      Like

  5. Really interesting post Alan I kinda of agree but I still believe in the system great post mate Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

