Public Breastfeeding a Dad’s View 

Quite regularly on one of my social media timelines, be it Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or Pinterest. There is either a breastfeeding complaint or a pro breastfeeding post.

So I thought I’d have my two Penny’s worth on the debate from a Dad’s/Man’s point of view.

A bit of background first

Being adopted I’ve no idea if I was or wasn’t breastfed. Not that it makes a difference. What does make a difference though is my strict Catholic upbringing. Sex was never mentioned! T.V. was very limited and strictly policed to ensure no unsuitable content was viewed. All of which led to me being painfully shy and embarrassed at any form of female nudity, and even to this day I don’t know where to look when breasts are on show in public. (You won’t find me on a nudist beach lol)

My Children and Breastfeeding

When I met my better half she already had two boys and hadn’t breastfed either. When she became pregnant on Buddy we had the discussion and she wanted to bottle feed. 

As it turns out the choice was out of our hands. She took a seisure during labour and was given medication that meant she couldn’t breastfeed. This turned out to be a good thing for me. I got to give Buddy his first bottle and I’d say this helped form the close bond we have.

With Little Miss OMG we didn’t have the option. An operation on my partners breasts meant she is no longer able to breastfeed.

My position on Public Breastfeeding

Considering my upbringing and lack of Breastfeeding in my life. (I can’t think of anyone that I personally know that has breastfed.) Until my cousin, who I met for the first time last year, and when she feeds her baby I dont know where to look. (Thank god for smartphones and Facebook) 

I’m all for public Breastfeeding. We eat in public, so why should babies have to? If that is what the mother wants to do. 

Yes, I feel uncomfortable, but that is my problem. Yes, I don’t know where to look. Again my problem.

Breastfeeding is a natural thing. We take children to the zoo, where they will see apes and chimpanzees Breastfeeding. Many of them will have dogs and cats who have litters and witness the mother suckling the young.

As a society we should be teaching our children that breastfeeding is natural and that it is nothing to be ashamed of. That it is a mothers right to feed her baby how she wants, wherever she happens to be when the child is hungry. If others don’t like it, it is THEIR choice to stay or leave. No mother should be verbally abused for breastfeeding in public, and I for one would boycott establishments that had anti breastfeeding policies.

To the same extent some mothers might not be able to or just don’t want to breastfeed, they shouldn’t be made feel any less of a mother because they don’t!

How do you feel? Should laws be brought in to make it illegal to discriminate against breastfeeding mothers?
photo credit: eyelashes! via photopin (license)

One thought on “Public Breastfeeding a Dad’s View 

Leave a Reply

