Did you plan when your child would be born?

License:ย (license)

We have four children. Their birthdays are in June, December, November and February. Yes its great fun in our house TWO birthdays a month before Christmas.

We had Buddy’s today.You can read about what happened in the labour ward after his birth here. It’s always tough, most presents he wants have been asked for from Santa, and money being tight we can’t afford anything too expensive.

Luckily we are heading to the USA next summer to visit his grandparents and it’d be rude not to pop to Florida and visit Mickey Mouse. So all he wanted was money for his savings. Result.

In 7 days we have his brothers birthday, again most of what he wants is on his Christmas list. (He doesn’t believe in Santa anymore!) Thankfully he wants money for his holiday savings too. I’m starting to think we should go to the States every year!)

It has gotten me thinking though. Does anyone actually sit down with a calendar and say?

If we get pregnant here, we’ll have the baby here”

I know what happened in my house. Well I know what happened with my two. I didn’t even knowย Mrs OMG when she conceived or gave birth to the first two. (June and December in case you were wondering)

With Buddy (November) I had started a new job in January ย and missed payroll cutoff. Resulting in no wages till the end of February. Which also meant no Birthdayย or Valentines presents for Mrs OMG.

I promised her I would make it up to her when I got paid.

Payday came and whilst working. (Surfing the internet) I saw that the Meteor music awards were on that night. Shayne Ward, The Saw Doctors, Sinead O’Connor and a host of stars would be performing. A quick look for a hotel and we were set. Mrs OMG got the bus to Dublin, I met her and we went to the awards ceremony. Had a great night and back to the hotel bar. One or two Stella’s later and we fell up to the room.

9 months later Buddy was born! One week before his brothers birthday and a month before Christmas. Great planning!

For Little Miss OMG we had the discussion about having one last baby. I said no, she said yes. Then I changed my mind and she changed hers. A few months later we were thinking as one.

What followed was months of humping like horny teenagers, late periods and negative pregnancy tests. Mrs OMG was getting despondent and with neither of us getting any younger we agreed we’d give it one last go.

Little Miss OMG must have known it was now or never. I’d say she was a turbo charged swimmer racing up to fertilise the egg!

On Feb 9th 2015 she arrived on her due date. 7 weeks after Christmas. Giving us 3 birthdays, Christmas and New Year in a 10 week period! Definitely not the best of planning. Well actually no planning at all.

I do wonder are there people out there who attempt to conceive within certain months to ensure a birth within a certain timeframe? Or is everyone like us and just hammers away at it until they are successful?

13 thoughts on “Did you plan when your child would be born?

  1. We so need to have a chat about this one day when we FINALLY meet. I did laugh. You’d get on great with my hubby who’s just declared thinking about a child’s birthday when conceiving is not something blokes do. What do I know? Family planning is clearly not my forte. 2 kids with birthdays 3 days apart (kill me) and we can’t do a joint one as they’re a boy and girl. I always joke that there’s nothing to do in March and TV’s crap to explain it ๐Ÿ™‚ In my defence, I was 41 years and one day old when we conceived our third. I thought the chances of getting preggers the first time round yet again were slim at such an advanced age. Nope. First time. And yes, before you ask, she was a birthday shag. Dear me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep definitely in agreement with your hubby. I can safely say that at the moment of conception the furthest thought from my mind was “When will the baby be born?”
      With Buddy it was “This bed is a bit squeaky, I hope there’s no-one in the next room!” And with Little Miss OMG it was “I hope the boys don’t wake up!”
      Yep not the best planning here either!
      It makes for an eventful time of year though.
      Technically Buddy was a birthday Shag, just a couple of weeks late lol

      Like

  2. Neither of my girls were planned. Eva was concieved on my 19th Birthday.. The Mr figured he’d take me on my first camping trip for my birthday & took me to Mersea Island.. Lets just say it was a rather messy weekend.. we went from fuckbuddies to deciding to get a flat together when I found out ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜‚ Izzy was conceived thanks to our friends testing their home brewed wine in time for christmas .. In my defense the stuff was so strong I couldn’t remember a thing the next day. The Mr wasn’t happy at all as we had both agreed no more for a few years.. Too late! Oh and all 4 times I have fallen pregnant I’ve been on the pill! ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I’ve had to swap to injection just to make sure it doesn’t happen again. The girls birthdays are May & August so quite a good spacing considering they were unplanned haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lucky you with the spacing. As you can tell by the dates there was no planning at all with ours!
      Mrs OMG was on the implant but had to go back to the pill.
      When I get round to it getting snipped to make sure there’s no little accidents lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. No actual planning as such involved in the “trying phase” with us, although evidently ours were both brought down the chimney by a certain jolly person with a red suit, and both pregnancy rest results showed positive on 2nd January – exactly 2 years apart. They were both born in Sept with just 4 days between them. Couldn’t have planned that if I’d tried. Great question!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Neither of mine were planned, both in February a week apart although 5 years separate them. My husbands is in January, mine in March, anniversary April. So we are broke from December to May! If I had planned it I would have had summer babies so they could have had parties in the park (in the rain probably)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

