I’m A Crap Parent

Not in a call social services and take the kids off me kind of way. I’m no Mary Poppins or Maria Von Trapp though!
As with my school reports I could do better. Unlike my school reports though it’s not because I’m easily led by my peers, well maybe some of my twitter buddies could be a little distracting! You know who you are!

Some of it could be due to my pitiful attempts at multi tasking. Let’s face it anyone who takes a smart phone to the loo and gets too distracted to push isn’t ready to try and juggle parenting and another task at the same time!

Maybe I should have learnt my lesson the time I tried to change a poonami nappy and tweet at the same time! Let’s say I could have changed Little Miss OMG and sent twenty tweets in the time it took me to clean up that mess!

Here are my top seven crap parenting moments! I realise it’s a strange number. But in my mind it’s enough to be funny, but not too many to make me look totally irresponsible!

  1. Not checking appointment card and going to the wrong hospital some forty miles away, with Stepson #1 in tow!
  2. Putting jumpers back to front, on Little Miss OMG! This happens more frequently than you would believe and is not limited to jumpers. Pajama tops, t-shirts and vests are all fair game!
  3. Forgetting to feed them! Many a time I’ve realised the time and thought “Shit. The kids haven’t been fed since breakfast!”
  4. Forgotten the time for the school run. Yes more than once my kids have been the only ones stood there after everyone else has gone home!
  5. Taking Stepson #2 out of school, driving to an appointment to discover I was a day early.
  6. Going off with Little Miss OMG wearing no shoes and socks! Thankfully she had her pink wellies in the car!
  7. Forgetting medicines. Ironically I’ll remember 30 mins before it’s due and then again an hour after its due!

Luckily these incidents are spaced out. I do have some good moments too. I’ll cover those another day.

What are your crap parent moments?

30 thoughts on “I’m A Crap Parent

  1. I’ve done all of those too! I’m most guilty of forgetting to feed them on the weekends, allowing the occasional piggy night (no bath) because I’m tired and letting them watch yet another movie because I want to finish a book. I’m a crap mom!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Phew not just me then lol.
      I can’t avoid Little Miss OMG her bath, she loves in and climbs in heself shouting “ba, ba, ba”
      That’s normally when I remember I forgot to feed her!
      Thanks for commenting

      Like

  2. πŸ™‹πŸΎ arrived a day and four hours early to take the child to the dentist here. Yeesh! I was more upset that I’d walked all the way to the school in the rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have forgotten to pick the kids up from school before now (normally when they do different hours) and I missed Sebby’s pre-school boosters last month #oops

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I’m that bad with Clara I make sure there is one in the car. Same with a change of clothes, nappies and wipes! Although I forget to replenish stocks and have often been caught out with no nappies!

      Like

    2. Oh yes I forgot to include forgetting coats. It was so bad with Buddy that I now keep a coat in the car for Little Miss OMG. All good untill it gets washed and I forget to put it back in the car.
      Let’s not go into the nappy changing bag and how bad at restocking I am!
      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  4. Ha ha! I’m going to PR No. 5 to just being really efficient πŸ˜‰ I’m always taking the kid out wearing my pyjamas, luckily he’s not old enough to be embarrassed by me yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

