First Communion

14660637949_1d804ef981

Both my birth parents were Catholics, as is most of Ireland. My adopted parents were also Catholics, not sure if this was a requirement or just a coincidence. ?Either way I was raised a Catholic, when I hit my Confirmation age I started rebelling.

I’d always had issues with Catholicism, and at confirmation time announced I wouldn’t be making mine. This was greeted in a similar fashion, by my parents, than the news the Beatles were splitting up!

In the end I was at boarding school and it was never mentioned again.

When my children were born Mrs OMG said we would get them baptised. I wasn’t too fussed, when they are older they can make their own choices.

Buddy is now at the age for making his First Communion. In Ireland this is something akin to an engagement party. When I made mine I got Rosary Beads, a prayer-book and some sandwiches and crisps in the school hall afterwards.

In 2017 Ireland, that is not the norm. It seems parents attempt to outdo each other with how much they spend and what they do to mark the occasion. Admittedly we didn’t think ahead when Stepson #1 made his all those years ago. We gave him the choice of having a party or going away. He picked going away, so off to Manchester to Old Trafford and then Cadbury World in Birmingham we went. A dangerous precedent had been set.

A couple of years later and Stepson #2 wanted to go away also. Thankfully the Spurs Stadium Tours weren’t running that weekend, so we went on a staycation in Ireland for a few days.

Buddy wants to go to Portugal!! As we are off to the States this summer, another foreign trip so soon just isn’t in the budget. We’ve appeased him, by saying that the US trip is part of his communion celebrations. Phew bullet dodged.

We will be having a party at home afterwards, with bouncy castles for the kids. We bought him a suit in the Debenhams sale just after Christmas.

248020707043

I might splash out on a new tie, and I think a new shirt is in order as the old waistline has expanded a bit.

I personally think it’s madness, the whole day is supposed to be about the sacrament, but it has turned into a circus. Girls turn up wearing fake tan, hair and make up professionally done and according to statistics from 2015 the average spend is €703 with the child being given €1500 in cash from friends and family.

What do you think, has it all gone a bit over the top?

7 thoughts on “First Communion

    1. The problem we have here now is that it’s become the norm to throw lavish parties or go for trips away. If you do nothing then the child is the only one in the class who does nothing. We just do a meal at the house or book well in advance if going away so it’s cheaper.

      Like

Leave a Reply

