Over The Hill

I remember reading an article a few years ago about Rod Stewart becoming a father again. He’s in his 60’s at least. Fair play to him I thought.

The subject of age and fatherhood is now on the agenda again. But a bit closer to home.

Having become a father to Little Miss OMG not long before my 40th Birthday.

(A fact Herself takes every opportunity to remind me of.) She has even gone a step further and calculated what age I will be for her various milestones.

I’ll be 48 when she makes her First Holy Communion. 51 for her Confirmation. 57/58 when she finishes secondary school and 60 the year she turns 20.

None of these numbers make much difference to me. But, and its a big but, I am starting to worry I won’t be able to keep up.

I’m starting to get a middle aged spread! My metabolism has retired, never mind slowed down. Buddy can beat me in a race, without me letting him, and more worryingly I get out of breath carrying the hoover up the stairs. I cannot justify this by saying its a big hoover or there’s lots of stairs!

Rod doesn’t have to worry. He has chefs, maids and nannies to help. Being a SAHD to four. Three of whom are active boys, means I do have to worry!

I didn’t lead the healthiest of lifestyles from 17 onwards. Drinking, smoking, no exercise and unhealthy eating habits.

Rod has access to personal trainers, gyms and saunas. I get 10 mins of Xbox fitness once in a blue moon. I get to spend 45 minutes anxiously watching bobbing heads in the pool every now and then, instead of swimming laps. Probably not a bad thing. I’d end up with cramp and being pulled out by a lifeguard if I tried laps these days.

This wasn’t how I envisioned parenthood. I’d be there playing soccer with them till the sun went down. Rugby, baseball, tennis etc. We would be one of those fit families you see on TV. cycling everywhere.

My adopted Father was 48 when I went to live with them. He wasn’t the sporty type so there was no soccer, American Football, any sports at all. He was a reader, so did spend time reading to us and listening to us read. I didn’t want to be like that as a Dad.

It is however looking more likely the only programme I’ll be on is Operation Transformation or The Biggest Loser!

Another problem is I’ve no medical history to go on. I know my birth mother had heart problems, but don’t know exactly what they were. I know nothing at all about my dads health. Am I a genetic time bomb waiting to explode?

Every little girl wants her Daddy to give them away, be there when they graduate from College. I’m sure Little Miss OMG won’t be any different. Have I left it too late? Or is there time to put right some of the damage done over the last 22 years?

No more coffee, fags, energy drinks, using the juice from the chicken to make the gravy… I can’t see myself as the herbal tea and salad type though.

I’m starting to feel tired at the thought. Time for a donut and a coffee then we’ll search the internet for 5 minute exercise routines that can be done during the drive to school.

Little Miss is a fine healthy toddler. Maybe I can do squat thrusts with her in my arms, or chasing her around the garden when it’s time to come in.

9 thoughts on “Over The Hill

  1. I know how you feel. Except is was three months shy of fifty when Fidget was born; 55 a few days ago. She’s now 5 and Little Man 2. They run me ragged! But ain’t it great!
    Nice post, Alan.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks David. I’m a spring chicken compared to you. Ah it is wouldn’t have it any other way. I don’t think I’d have been sensible enough to have kids when I was in my 20’s.

      Like

  2. I’m only a couple of years behind you,when I had my first at 20 it was a breeze but being older for the other two I often think I’m going to be like a granny by the time they get to high school,in fact with the teen being that much older chances are I will be!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a older and younger dad I never thought it made much difference if I honest the girls keep me young, on a other note I thought you were about 30 never reaslied you were 40+ looking good mate Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw Alan. I thought you were younger too. As they say you’re only as old as you feel and it’s never too late. Cliche, I know, but I turned 30 this year and I’m determined to be healthier and fitter. I want a long life, I want to see my kids grow old. Sadly my mum was just 50 when she died from Ovarian cancer. The thought of leaving my kids early due to an unhealthy or unfit lifestyle terrifies me. It’s why I’ve been making lots of lifestyle changes this year. Sorry, this comment turned rather heavy! Thanks for linking up to #ThatFridayLinky

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

